Select Page

TRREB announces Past President’s Scholarship winners

With the fall semester underway, eight first-year students are pursuing ambitious university degrees and career paths with the help of the Toronto Regional Real Estate Board’s Past President’s Scholarship.

The winners join 50 other deserving students who have received scholarships since the program’s inception in 2007. Scholarships range from $5,000 for first-place winners to $1,500 for fourth-place winners, totalling $22,000 in scholarship funds awarded this year.

First-place winners Deborah Ojo and Ryan Tan head off to the University of British Columbia’s Sauder School of Business and Western University’s DAN Management Program with an AEO status, respectively. Ojo will study commerce and specialize in either real estate or marketing. She wishes to one day work in the field of business journalism and marketing. Tan’s interests are in marketing and finance.

Dream Tuitt-Barnes and Jonathan Sekyewa are the second-place winners. As an aspiring plastic surgeon, Tuitt-Barnes chose Queen’s University for Honours Health Sciences with the Queens University Accelerated Route to Medicine program. The University of Waterloo’s Sustainability and Financial Management program will help Sekyewa decide on a specific career later in his studies.

The third-place winners are Darrah Tan and Tivona Mwangi. Darrah Tan will pursue the Life Sciences program at McMaster University with a career goal in the healthcare field (medicine or pharmacy). Mwangi is off to the University of Ottawa for Health Sciences. As a future healthcare practitioner, she wants to provide optimal care for all people and help address the social determinants of health.

The fourth-place award winners are Mahak Mishra and Zufishan Siddiqui. Mishra plans to study computer science at the University of Toronto. She aspires to work in the computer science industry and promote gender equality and female participation in the STEM fields. Siddiqui will attend McMaster University for the Social Sciences I program, majoring in political science. As she is passionate about human rights law, Siddiqui will then pursue a law degree.

“Our members are committed to investing in the next generation of decision-makers and innovators. They are passionate about ensuring tomorrow’s leaders can thrive and grow and that students seeking higher education are able to pursue their aspirations,” says TRREB president Kevin Crigger.

To see more about the winners’ goals, their winning essays, and when to watch for the 2023 scholarship application, click here.